Rain, rain, go away

We taught the English club here at school the well-known children’s song “Rain, rain, go away” on Sunday.

“Rain, rain, go away,
come again another day,
(insert name here) wants to play,
rain, rain, go away.”

It was raining that day, so it seemed appropriate.  The song was fun to each, and the students and English teachers learned it quickly.  The past few days, I’ve heard it sung through my office door as people walk down the hallways.

Apparently, it rains quite a bit here in Yueyang during the fall and winter, much to my delight!  I love gloomy, rainy, grey days.  So enjoyable!  They are best when spent curled up reading a book with a good cup of coffee or hot chocolate (or occasionally a caramel apple spice from Starbucks).  But I now have a new reason for loving the rain!  It knocks the pollution from the air and makes it easier to breathe.  Given this fact, I have developed a new version to the song.

“Rain, rain, come today,
Stay away another day,
I want to breathe today,
Rain, rain, come today.”

Now I know its cheating to rhyme a line with itself and use today so much, but it works and its how I feel.  Waking up to the sound of rain is so joyous now!  Even if I am getting up at 6am to go to work.  Soon, I’m probably going to start fighting with Spain for the rain that stays mainly on their plain so that it can come here to stay instead.  Until then, I’ll just sing my freshly coined song and pray that I wake up to the delightful pitter-patter of rain on the tin rooftop.

 

AMENDMENT:

While walking in the rain this evening, I thought of a better 3rd line for my little ditty.

“Rain, rain, come today,
Stay away another day,
Keep the dirty air at bay,
Rain, rain, come today.”

I think it is actually a more accurate description of what I want the rain to do (in part, because I just love it in general!).  And it doesn’t use the word today to rhyme with itself.  So here you go folks!  My variation of the traditional children’s song!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

