In sickness and in health

John and I get to experience the whole “in sickness and in health” part of our marriage vows yet again.  For the past 24 hours or so, we have taken turns being sick.  While we don’t know exactly why we are sick, we suspect food poisoning or something like it since we get bad headaches, upset stomachs, and in John’s case, puking.  Yuck.

Sadly, this is not the first time we have experienced what we suspect to be food poisoning.  Strangely, it occurs only after we have been at nice social lunches or dinner parties, forced to drink until we are almost drunk (or even drunk on at least one occasion).

Never, ever have we been sick after eating at a Chinese restaurant by ourselves, or after eating street food.

It has only been after drinking Chinese beer, which is made with formaldehyde.  So we suspect the beer, especially after  yesterday’s lunch when everyone else drank wine (including me until I finished my glass and had to share John’s beer).

Thankfully, after we finally got home at 9:30pm last night (we had to teach last night), I went to two local supermarkets and was able to track down Sprite and some plain Lay’s potato chips.  After indulging in our American “health” food (seriously though it did calm our stomachs), we went to bed and slept for 10 hours.

When we woke up, John felt much better – probably because he puked up whatever was causing him to be sick.  I, on the other hand, still feel nauseous, but then again, I also haven’t puked.  I’m not sure which is worse.  Puking or feeling sick?  I’m thinking puking, especially since John is being super sweet and taking care of me today.  🙂

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “In sickness and in health”

  1. Angela Broz says :

    This makes me sad for you two, but I’m glad you both pulled through. Hope you’re feeling better, Rachel. Hugs!

Leave a Reply

