If I could…

If I could, I would (in no particular order)…

… live in Portland.

… live in Spain.

… live in England.

… live in Amsterdam.

… live in Latin America (I’m currently thinking Chile or Costa Rica, don’t ask me why!)

… live in Italy.

… learn Dutch.

… learn Italian.

… become fluent, or nearly so, in Spanish.

… move overseas with close friends.

… write for a living.

… become an amateur photographer.

… get a Masters degree in some field of Communication.

… read for hours a day.

… tour Starbucks around the world.

… work at a Starbucks or Gap in a foreign country.

… be paid to blog.

… write more creative stories.

… be a knowledgeable book reviewer.

… start an English school for underprivileged children in Latin America.

… empower and encourage those who feel they have no voice.

… show love to everyone in a way they would understand.

… be so in love with God that nothing else mattered and I trusted Him fully.

… live with good friends again.

… encourage my friends.

… write for hours a day in coffee shops or cafes.

… write a novel or two.

… write articles for magazines, especially Relevant Magazine.

So yeah… I have a million and five different dreams.  I’m sure I even forgot some on this list.  Who knows if I will accomplish all of them?  But I certainly want to try.  I honestly don’t think anything of them are extraordinarily hard… or at least not any harder than moving to China and attempting to navigate the labyrinth of language of Chinese.  And I think John is game for most, if not all, of them.  So who knows where we will end up next?  Only God at this point.  But I will admit that I have strong desires and earnest petitions to Him for the next step in this grand adventure called life!  February 17th is less than 4 months away at this point!  We shall just have to wait and see what happens then…

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “If I could…”

  1. vincent says :

    Good luck. Enjoy the adventure.

  2. Lo says :

    Love this! Super exhilarating and inspiring…totally stealing it on my blog.

  3. jessicamarie19 says :

    Hi Rachel,

    This is Jessica Davis… remember me from your old sub? 🙂

    I just wanted to post and let you know that I clicked a link to your blog on facebook a while back and have since enjoyed checking in to see how your adventures in China are going. After recently starting a blog myself (poetry), I have learned the value in responses from your readers, whether they are comments, emails, etc. Somehow even 120 “clicks” a day doesn’t mean much without a personal touch! So I wanted to drop you a note to let you know that I am becoming a regular reader of yours. We share many of the same goals (writing for a living, photography, masters in comm, constantly deepening a relationship with God) but it doesn’t seem fair for only one of us to know that!

    Additionally, I am impressed and encouraged by you and your husband’s willingness to follow the Lord to the ends of the Earth. I am currently considering a trip to either Guatemala or the Phillippines in December myself, but even the thought of leaving friends and family for a few weeks is daunting. Your messages of what is difficult and what you enjoy serve as a “sneak peak” and they will be beneficial to me as my own travels unfold. I suppose it is far overdue for you to know that!

    Congrats to you on your new marriage – I will keep you both in prayer and your blog on my regular list!

    • Rachel says :

      Hi Jessica! I do remember you! Wow… it has been a while!

      Thanks for your encouraging words! I really appreciate your comment!

      Let me know if you decide to go on a trip! It would be awesome to hear your experiences!

Leave a Reply

