A sweet surprise

When I woke up this morning, I had no idea that it was going to be the coldest, greyest, and generally dreariest day yet here in Yueyang.

But it was.

Despite turning the heat up to 28 degrees Celsius (about 82 degrees Fahrenheit), I sat shivering my office all day while John stayed home to wait  for the internet installation guy from China Telecom to come.  This is partly due to a very drafty window and partly due to the fact that the Chinese always wear their coats because they don’t really seem to believe in turning heat on.  What good is a heater if it is never turned on?

At first, it wasn’t so bad.  I had coffee and only my toes were cold.  But slowly as the day trudged along, my whole feet felt as if they had transformed into ice cubes.  Then my fingers.  And my ears.  By the time I got off the bus, I was cold and wanted nothing more than to curl up under a blanket at home with a cup of tea and a good book.  And then I looked up…

…to see  John walking to meet me at the bus stop with a beautiful bouquet of red daisies!  It made my day!  I felt so loved! 🙂

Pictures will be forthcoming since I did manage to curl up under a huge blanket with a cup of tea (and then a cup of coffee) and am finally warm.  I therefore have very little desire to get up and become cold again.  In the morning, before I am all snuggled and warm, I promise I will post pics!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “A sweet surprise”

  1. Lo says :

    I LOVE THIS.

Leave a Reply

