Icy fresh breath

Even though the Chinese government has classified our climate in Yueyang as “tropical” since we are south of the Yangtze River, the temperatures has been slowly falling recently, hitting a low of -2 degrees Celsius (high 20s F).  This has caused me to be incredibly cold at times since there is no central heating in “tropical” southern China, and the people don’t really turn on the space heaters they have, especially at school.

I nearly froze to death the other day sitting in my office for 7.5 hours waiting to teach.  Ok, that may be a slight exaggeration.  But I was quite cold.  After eating my lunch, which had its share of hot peppers, I decided to indulge in some Wrigley’s Doublemint Mints to freshen my breath.  It sounded like a fantastic idea to me!  After all, who wants a teacher with bad breath?

Wrigley's Doublemint icy freshness disguised as mints

Indeed, upon finishing them, my breath was very minty fresh.  It was fantastic!  That is, until I took a breath in.  And then it was icy fresh breath.  Oops.  I forgot that cool/cold ait + minty freshness = icy freshness.  Yeah.  Let’s just say that it didn’t help me keep any warmer than I already was that day, which wasn’t warm at all.  Regardless, the fresh breath was nice.  And possibly worth it.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

