“Meet me at the altar in your white dress…”

For those of you who don’t know, I am (for some unknown reason) an absolutely huge fan of Jagged Edge’s “Let’s Get Married (Remarquable remix)”.  I will literally listen to this song on a daily basis.  Why?  Who knows.  But anyway, it seemed pertinent (kinda) for the topic of this post – I’m getting married on Sunday!  But in a red dress this time.  Let me explain…

When we arrived in China in August, everyone assumed that we were not married, despite the fact that we were both wearing wedding rings.  This greatly offended their Chinese sensibilities and morals since we were living together, so they offered us a traditional wedding ceremony.  We explained that we were already married, and there was no more mention of a wedding.

Until Monday.

We found out that we are getting married again in a traditional Chinese ceremony at a Christmas party on Sunday night.  We have no idea what this actually means.  All I know is that I went for a wedding dress fitting on Tuesday.  My hips were too Caucasian for the first dress they handed me, but thankfully the second dress was a wrap and fit!  It was even long enough – much to my great surprise!  Though I was warned to wear pants with it since it will be cold (and it is slit up to the top of my thigh).  And while I am wearing red, John is wearing purple!  Yup.  It’s a true story.  And I’ll let you know exactly what happens (and post pictures) on Monday.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

P.S. Is it even legal to get married again while still married?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to ““Meet me at the altar in your white dress…””

  1. Taneisha says :

    It’s legal because your marriage in the U.S is only valid in the U.S. You can’t break American laws in China. A Chinese wedding, that’s so interesting! I wish I could have been there.

Leave a Reply

