The sun is shining

The sun is shining today as I sit in a Starbucks in Dayton, OH!  It is so delightful and warm!  I love sunshine!  It just delights my soul!

I have been extremely bad about blogging recently, my apologies to all!  I am working on a post about God’s faithfulness since my return to the States, but I thought today I’d just let you know the sun is shining!  Spring is coming!  Dreary winter is almost over!

Winter weather was one adjustment that I wasn’t so keen on making upon my arrival.  Despite growing up in southeastern Michigan, I really don’t care for bitter cold, biting winds, more than two inches of snow, and any ice, hail, or sleet.  I just prefer milder climes.  Portland’s more moderate temperatures and tendency to rain rather than snow are two definite aspects of living in Portland that I am looking forward to!  Anyway, back to winter.  It was definitely winter when we arrived in Ohio.  It was freezing cold.  We experienced a massive snowstorm/blizzard within two weeks of being back.  The temperatures dropped below zero degrees Fahrenheit at night.  I hated it.  I couldn’t go for walks.  Stepping outside was miserable.

And then with no explanation whatsoever, the weather decided to cooperate with my desires and began to warm up and be sunny for the past few days!  I know it is still February and that I am still in Ohio, which means that it will more than likely be freezing again quite soon.  But for now, I am going to enjoy the sunshine!  I love walking places rather than driving, and warmer weather actually accommodates this!  Also, it just makes me happy!

What makes you happy?  And do you prefer winter or spring?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “The sun is shining”

  1. Andrew says :

    Stop blogging and go outside. Loved seeing you Saturday. And I prefer Autumn actually, but if I had to pick between Winter or Spring: early Winter (not February), then Spring. Yeah, February can just leave, no offense to the history of Blacks.

  2. Rachel says :

    I prefer Autumn as well… but between Winter and Spring, Spring wins hands down! LOVED seeing you too! We will definitely have to see each other again soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

