Archive | 2011/06/09

My summer bookshelf

 

I’ll just be real with you.  I LOVE reading, and I’m a nerd.  After all, I did study English literature in college.  With summertime here, I’ve decided to dive back into reading.

My first challenge is to read the entire Patricia Cornwell series.  It’s eighteen books long, so I’m giving myself some time, but not too much.  I’m already nearly done with book six!  The books are good, not the novels of the great classic writers, but definitely not bad.  To be honest, I’m reading them mostly for the challenge of reading the entire series; however, these books have a way of capturing my interest near the end, making them nearly impossible to put down.  I’ve stayed up way too late several nights just to finish one.

I also have a list of random books that I want to read this summer.  I’m confident it will grow and expand, but I’ll share what I have so far.

  1. Catch-22
  2. The Catcher in the Rye
  3. Pride & Prejudice (for like the 4th time I think)
  4. Invisible
  5. Sometimes a Great Notion
  6. Lover’s Dictionary
  7. Eat, Pray, Love (research for a project)
  8. The Happiness Project (further research)
  9. The Hunger Games series

And that is what I have so far.  It’s a small list, in desperate need of expansion.  What are your recommendations?  What’s on your summer list?  I’d absolutely love to know!